Commentaires fermés sur CALICO presents CHRISTIAN DJOR – Pour Homme EP

12 mai 2010

CALICO presents CHRISTIAN DJOR – Pour Homme EP



This is a welcome return for  Calico, a Swedish producer known for striking electronic efforts.

Here he reactivates the Christian Djor alias, which he originally used back in 1997.

Pour Homme is an on point release, featuring three aromatic efforts of the solid house variety. Here Lace Recordings have come up trumps again, with Calico joining a roster that includes DJ Mourad, Alton Miller, Bonnie Drasko, Raph Dumas, Aqua Bassino, Alvina Red or Mark O’Sullivan.

Calico aka Christian Lappalainen was born in the early 70s. His first taste of music came from new wave bands such as Depeche Mode and Duran Duran. By the late 80s he was a radio DJ and progressed to clubs in the mid 90s. His debut release as a producer was Unfinished Diary – Chapter One, the first release on the legendary Swedish label Svek. Since then he has released music on labels such as Deep Touch, Selekta and Audio Beyond. Calico has collaborated on releases with DJ Mourad, Fredrik Stark, Pawel Kobak and Manuel Perez, and remixed the likes of Robert Miles, Covenant and Riviera. Intended for more eclectic outings, he originally used the Christian Djor moniker in 1997 for a track that appeared on the Wrong Steps sampler volume 3.

POUR HOMME is a clean cutting jacker, featuring gutsy keys and a thumping rhythm section.

BOP ‘TIL U DROP inspires you to do just that, courtesy of its grooving synth work and heavenly strings.

SUNDAY RAIN is a calm key led winner, where sturdy beats and sweet synths assist.


Robert « Big Rob » Martinez  » Great package, different vibe for each song, can play the entire EP thru the nite !!!« 
Dr. Motte
« Wow! That’s deep house! Love the classic! »
Desy Balmer « This is an outstanding EP. Love all three trax but would be supporting Bop til U drop until I drop myself. This is deep house at its raw best. Its been a while but well worth the wait for such quality house music. Full Support – chart and play. Nice one!!!
Aaron Carl « Welcome back, Calico! Bop ‘Til U Drop is awesome!
Kazuumi Ishii
« Nice and lovely deep stuff! »
Sammy Rock « Calico is back!! It’s been a very long time since this producer was in the scene and now returns with a 3 E.P banger on Lace Recordings. This joint takes you on a musical journey from deep to tech-house which I enjoy very much and so will you. « Summer Rain » is my pick!



Track listing

  1. Pour Homme (original mix)
  2. Bop ‘Til You Drop (original mix)
  3. Sunday Rain (original mix)


  • All tracks written and produced by Christian Lappalainen.
  • Published by Deepart.
  • Artwork by Joakim Persson.
  • All rights reserved. A Marendadisc production.


IDOL – –